I Have to Admit, I Expected Worse Grammar

Proudly representing his native Knoxville, TN, some guy decided to take a little time out from this killer ho-down to write his local newspaper a nice little opinion piece on why evolution shouldn’t be taught in public schools.  SPOILER ALERT: there are some logical holes in his treatise.  I mean without evolution, how do you explain a chimp like me blogging my little heart out?  Dude, I’m so evolved that I type with my chimp-feet.

CLICK HERE TO READ THE LETTER

Now I’m not into Creationism.  It’s not really my thing.  But does it have a place in schools?  Sure, in religion class, where you talk about religions and their history and such.  I learned about Christianity, Islam, and several other religions that I went on to nonchalantly disregarded in my personal life.  So why wouldn’t you want to teach science in science class? One guy who is into Creationism is the Pope, so let’s see what he has to say on the subject:

There is much scientific proof in favor of evolution, which appears as a reality that we must see and which enriches our understanding of life and being as such.

-Pope Benedict XVI in 2007 via MSNBC

Wait, what?  You’re telling me the freaking Pope has said on the record that Creationism and evolution are NOT mutually exclusive? That’s awesome.  He respects science and all that it has discovered, while pointing out that the wealth of scientific knowledge we’ve amassed over the last few thousand years only represents a drop in the bucket.  And that’s true.  The only place his Popeness and I diverge is where he chooses to explain everything we don’t know yet by attributing it to the Catholic idea of God, while I choose to sit back and wait for the science to do its thing.  But here’s one piece of advice for the Holy Roller: tell these people to shut the fuck up every once in a while – they are NOT helping your cause.  I know every time I hear some guy like Anthony here open up his mouth all I can think is “JEBUS, the one thing I know is THIS GUY ain’t got it right.”

But he DID go back a whole 200 years into his family tree to look for an ancestor with scales (why am I not surprised that a guy from Tennessee thinks that the history of the human race couldn’t predate the USA?).  Look, Anthony, there is a problem with evolution: it’s slow.  Next time try praying for watermelons.

The Daily What via Geekologie

Leave a Reply

